2011 Contest Results

The Annual Contest held at the new venue at Pershore High School, Worcestershire on Sunday 20th November proved very popular with bands. Though the Association did not attract entries from Fourth Section bands this year, it was delighted with how the event ran and all the facilities provided by the school including excellent refreshments and a bar. Mr John Berryman adjudicated all sections.

Commenting on the day, Barbara Dunscombe, chair of the WMBBA, said “The initial feedback on the new location and the day from bands and supporters has been very positive. Of course, the change of venue has provided its challenges and the WMBBA welcomes feedback from bands on the contest at the new venue by contacting us or phoning 02476 442701″


Band Conductor Result
Enderby Brass Jonathan Mott 1
Oddfellows Brass Robert Boulter 2
The Wigston Band Garry Sleath 3
Carlton Brass Geoff Hawley 4
The Egham Band Gareth Green 5
Bedworth Brass Jason Glynn 6
Yiewsley & West Drayton Chris Cole 7
Shirland Welfare Marie Smith 8

Award to best instrumentalist in the Section: Luke Atkinson, Eb Bass – Oddfellows Brass


Band Conductor Results
Olney Town Brass Ed Keeley 1
Strata Brass David Holling 2
Bakewell Silver Mark Wilcockson 3
Amington Wes Kendrick WD

Award to best instrumentalist in the Section: Jack Wilson, Cornet – Olney Town Brass


Band Conductor Result
Cubbington Silver Alexander Webb 1
Stourport-on-Severn Brass Mike West 2
Rushden Windmill John Fletcher 3
Shipston Town Howard Gibbs 4
City of Birmingham Brass Warren Belshaw 5
Amington Wes Kendrick 6
West Mercia Police Alwyn Green 7
Newhall Kevin Holdgate 8

Award to best instrumentalist in the Section: Mark Hanson, Euphonium – Rushden Windmill

Adjudicator – All Sections – John Berryman

Next year will see a change in date as the contest moves to Sunday 14th October, again at Pershore High School.